Annual Convention Wrap-Up

For Immediate Release

Contact: Sarah Smith

Phone: (303) 431-6422

E-Mail: [email protected]

June 24th, 2019


Another Successful, Highly Engaged CCA Annual Convention

The Colorado Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) held its 152nd Annual Convention this past week at the Steamboat Grand in Steamboat Springs, Colorado. With a large attendance and high engagement, this year's convention was one to be remembered.

The convention began with CCA's ten committee meetings throughout the day on Monday. This year's committee meetings packed the conference rooms and allowed passionate discussion from members on the upcoming year's tough battles. During lunch, the Livingston Ranch and family were recognized as the 2019 Colorado Leopold Conservation Award winners. This award was well-earned by the multi-generational family of outstanding leaders in conservation and production. The day concluded with a dinner for CCA's past presidents, with over 15 years of presidents in attendance!

On Tuesday, attendees participated in the 2nd annual Ranching Legacy Symposium, a lectureship offered through the Ranching Legacy Program with the CSU Beef Systems Partnership. The lectureship began with a presentation from John Stika, President of Certified Angus Beef. This was followed by "Dimensions of Success Panel," a succession planning panel lead by William Mahaffey, Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie LLP; Sage Askin, Askin Land & Livestock; and Peggy and Don Brown, Anchor Three Farm. The afternoon included two breakout sessions: Ranch Benchmarking with Dr. Ryan Rhoades and Dr. Frank Garry from Colorado State University, and Succession Planning with Tim Belber, The Alchemia Group, and Cliff Polk, Jr., Rocky Mountain Financial Group. Tuesday concluded with "Steak Town, USA," an outdoor party and banquet that included a special auction hosted by the Colorado CattleWomen and the Junior Colorado Cattlemen's Association. Bob Mountain was recognized for his fifty years of service with the U.S. Forest Service and his support of the beef industry. Up and coming beef industry leaders were also recognized for the Young Guns Awards: Abby Campbell, Katelyn Fritsche, Josh Gillespie, Brandon Hatter, Ross LeValley, Hannah Todd, and Dean VanWinkle.

CCA wrapped up its convention with its Current Issues and Awards breakfast, followed by the business session. Jo Stanko was recognized as Volunteer of the Year at this breakfast for her service in the Ag Commission and the Cattlemen's Beef Board. Todd Inglee was recognized for his service on the CCA board and congratulated as he leaves for his next adventure directing the Colorado Beef Council. Mike Hogue gave his farewell speech as he moved out of his role as CCA President and welcomed Steve Wooten as the 2019-2020 president.

Overall, the convention was a great success. Thank you to all of the sponsors, trade show vendors, members, and attendees that make this event possible each year and congratulations to all of the award winners! Don't forget to mark your calendars for next year's convention on June 15-17 in Colorado Springs!




Share this release on social media or forwarded email by clicking the icons above.

Colorado Cattlemen's Association | 8833 Ralston Road, Arvada, CO 80002 | 303-431-6422

Share this post:

Comments on "Annual Convention Wrap-Up"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment